Network World
Thursday, January 8, 2009
DNSstuff.com
Get information about your IP
IP Information
50+ On-demand DNS and network tools

A World of Bytes

Navigation

A new racket in Chinese domain names?

Over the past few days, I've gotten email from two different Chinese domain name registrars. In each case they've notified me that somebody wants to register the Chinese version of one of my domain names, and suggests that I instead register it first, to protect my trademark and so on. One even helpfully named the outfit that wants to register the name, and points out that it's a domain name investment firm.

So far as I can tell, there are three possible explanations for this:

  • Coincidence.
  • A small wave of Chinese domain name squatting activity.
  • An attempt by registrars to drum up business, by stampeding domain name owners into also registering .cn domains.

As for my guess as to which is most likely, perhaps that can be surmised from the following part of one exchange.

Them:

Dear Curt Monash:

Thank for your letter. According to our investigation, Wenda company is a domain name investment company. They must want to get some profits from registering your company's domain names. As domain name registrar, We are obligated to inform you of this matter.Because we found www.dbms2.com have been registered by you, we informed you in time.If you think these domain names are useful for your company or it will take some bad effect aftet being grabbed, we can help your company dispute these domain names back and register for your company,we will send application form and register procedure to you,you can assist us and finish the registration. If these domain names would not affect your company, you can give up.We will finish registration of Wenda company. Hope get your decision ASAP, so that we can handle the next step. If you have any questions,please contact me.

Kind Regards,

Peter Zhou

Fax: ---

Email: ---

Shanghai Chooke Network Information Technology Co., Ltd

website:www.chooke.com.cn

Me:

Hello,

I can't get your web site to load for me, in Firefox or Internet Explorer alike.

I can't find evidence on the Web that a domain name investor named Wenda exists, nor can I determine whether, if it does, you are affiliated with them.

Perhaps because your site doesn't load, I can't find out whether you ever signed the Convention on the Self-Discipline of the Internet Address Registration Service Industry.

All things considered, it is very difficult for me to proceed.

Best regards,

CAM

Edit: A forum thread picking up on this blog post contains comments from other people who have received similar email.

Similar email was sent to my customer service email account

Useful answer?
0

Yesterday I've received a similar email to yours.

It goes like this:
--------------------------------------------
Dear Sir/Mad

I'm sorry to disturb you so abrupt . We are a professional domain name registrar .

On 13th Nov. Phofiet co., Ltd sent us an application to register "thriftyguam" with suffixes "CN" & "HK" & "ASIA" & "INFO" & "BIZ" as domain names and Internet Brand. Also wants to use this name to do promotion in Google and Baidu and other search engins.

But after checking we found that the keyword is being used by your company, we don't know whether you have business in Asia or China , and don't know whether need to keep these domain names for your company . So we have to inform you before we complete registration .

We only can keep the domain names safe in our checking period , once over , we should accept their registration , So, please ask your IT manager or other person who charge of this matter to contact me as soon as possible .

I'm looking forward to hearing from you .
Yours sincerely Cosmo
Tel: +86-0513-8011 8538
Fax: +86-0513-8011 8539
website: www.domain-work.cn
---------------------------------------------
I do receive some business from China however my first instinct was to go to my hosting company and grab the "INFO", "BIZ", and maybe "ASIA" suffixes. I haven't done that as of yet but will be doing more research. Interesting enough is the email address of the individual ends with mordendomain.cn.

A flight from Taipei or Hong Kong to Guam is only about 4-5 hours.

Gil

Morden Domain not legit?

Useful answer?
0

I received a similar email from Evan Wang of mordendomain.cn or domain-work.cn neither of which appear in CNNIC's list of accredited registrars available from http://www.cnnic.cn/en/index/0L/index.htm

Dear CEO:

We are a domain name registration service company in asia,which mainly deal with international company's domain business in Asia.We have something important to confirm with your company.On 5th December, we received an application formally.One company named "Aoxin Group Investment Co,Ltd" wanted to register "xxxxxxxxxxxx" as internet brand and ".CN/.ASIA" domain names.

During our checking procedure we find out that Aoxin has neither trademark, Intellectual property, nor patent related to this keyword. we find that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are the same as your company's name and trademark. we need you to confirm:
whether Aoxin Group is your business partner or distributor in Asia?

if so, we will complete their registration.These days we are dealing with it.If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept.In order to deal with this issue better,please let your supervisor for trademark or domain name contact me as soon as possible.
Best Regards

Evan Wang
Oversea Marketing Manager
-------------------------------------------
Room 908,
Hua Heng International Building,
No.99 TaoWu road,NanTong City
Tel:+86-0513-8011 8538
Fax:+86-0513-8011 8539
WebSite:www.domain-work.cn

I assume the scam here is to get sales at apparently reasonably prices for Far East domains that'll never actually get registered.

Regards

Gerry

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <i> <b> <cite> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd> <blockquote> <br /> <br> <p>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • You can use BBCode tags in the text.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

More information about formatting options

CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

About Curt Monash

Curt Monash is a leading analyst of and strategic advisor to the software industry. Praised by Lawrence J. Ellison for his "unmatched insight into technology and marketplace trends," Curt was the software/services industry's #1 ranked stock analyst while at PaineWebber, Inc., where he served as a First Vice President until 1987. He subsequently co-founded Evernet, Inc., a $40 million networking systems integrator. Since 1990, he has owned and operated Monash Research, an analysis and advisory firm covering software-intensive sectors of the technology industry. In that period he also has been co-founder, president, or chairman of several other technology startups.

Curt has served as a strategic advisor to many well-known firms, including Oracle, Microsoft, SAP, AOL, CA, and Netezza. Curt earned a Ph.D. in mathematics (Game Theory) from Harvard University. He has held faculty positions in mathematics, economics and public policy at Harvard, Yale, and Suffolk universities.

RSS feed

A World of Bytes archive.

The opinions expressed in this Weblog are those of the writer and may not represent the opinions of Network World.

Advertisement: